Ok, so I often, more often than a normal person, get life stories from strangers..here is the latest:
I had just gotten out of class and tried to run to catch the bus so I wouldn't have to wait 10 minutes for the next bus in the rain/sleet/snowy weather. I was not the only one either. There was a woman who was carrying a tiny, sick-looking dog who had on two jackets in one are and a huge, oversized bag over her other shoulder. Well, neither of us made it and we kind of looked at each other and shrugged our shoulders.
Now, let me take a short break to tell you, this is basically the extent of German communication with strangers. The rule states "if you do not know a person, you unpolitely stare at them, uncomfortably make eye contact, then look away without so much as a smile or a hi, let alone a story...."
Well this German woman had obviously not read the rule book. She told me this long story about how she was in a similiar situation trying to get on the bus with her arms completely full, but instead of going to the front narrow door, she tried to go to the second, wider door. She knocked on the window when the driver wouldn't open the door and when that didn't work she went to the front to get on the bus. Anyway, it turned into this big drama with the bus driver telling her to get off his bus and then she wrote several letters to the bus company who didn't want to hear her side of the story, etc. etc.
Needless to say, I had to keep myself from laughing, I mean at one point she told me the police got involved...hahaha So after ten minutes of her story telling, the next bus came, hey, at least I was distracted while waiting in the cold, miserable weather!
Friday, January 23, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
You seem to attract weird people. That story just made me think of the woman who talked to you on the plane. But I can't remember where you were going. And maybe that wasn't even you... But I'm quite sure it WAS you. Hmmm....?....
Anyway, contrary to everything foreigners could imagine, French people are less communicative than Germans. Surprising, I know.
funny. jeremy and i were just cracking up at your "German communication with strangers" rule!
Post a Comment