So Christian and I were talking last week about sports and when I told him I enjoy playing volleyball he said he knew a few people at work who play. So the next day he calls me to let me know that not only does he play but this coworker plays right here in Ahlem (my part of the city of Hannover) on Monday and Tuesday nights. Well, cool I thought. So tonight, after dinner, Christian says to me, "well Amy, aren't you going to see if they are playing tonight?" "Oh goodness" I reply, very nervously. And Christian says, "Yeah, I think they play around 8 pm at the elementary school where Elea goes." "Ok," I say and think to myself, "Oh no, what have I gotten myself into...but I have to put myself out there to meet people, so here goes..."
So I head up to the elementary school around 7:40 (everyone gets there early) with my sport stuff in tow. I get to the school and ask a man who is standing outside if he plays volleyball, well he didn't so I asked if he knew if people played volleyball here tonight and he said he thought they played at the Sporthall (just down the road - ca. 2 min by bike). Well, I knew where that was so I head up there. Outside the hall are two girls about my age, one of whom I know, she is Elea's handball coach. Well, I think, this looks like it is probably handball, but I will ask anyway.
I was right, it was handball, and the girls (by this time there were about 5 or 6) had no idea where volleyball was being played but invited me to stay and play handball. I laughed a bit and said not only had I never played handball but I have never even seen a game played. They said it didn't matter and that I could stay and watch/play or ride home in the rain. So I stayed.
So tonight was a huge letdown when it came to playing volleyball but a huge success when it comes to meeting people. I have been invited to keep practicing with them, every Monday and Wednesday and we talked about going out together on weekends!
ps Handball is great fun. It is kind of like basketball except the ball is like a small soccer ball, one can take three steps while holding the ball, and is a heck of a lot more physical oh yeah and you shoot the ball into a small soccer goal of sorts and not a basket. I wasn't too bad...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
7 comments:
Amy, you freakin rock! What a cool girl you are to be so laid back and just play handball with a bunch of strangers! Did you get any life stories that night? Oh well, I'm super proud of you for putting yourself out there. I am wishing you a very happy Oktoberfest. Love,
Jackie
won't in my wildest dreams have been so brave and certainly not when i was 22. you're amazing, amy!
You are just too cool, Amy! I'm so happy that all your bravery and "puttin' yourself out there" is paying off. So many friends and it's only the end of September!
Hey, Amy,
Would your kids like a project like this one? I think these luminaries would make a great Adventsprojekt!
http://meganraley.com/blog/
Cheers,
Heidi
wow that does sound like a lot of fun!! we play something like that in gym class sometimes!! i am waiting on that email!!!!
lymymi
~Ellie
And I wanna stress out how friendly German people are, aren't they? hehehe! ;)
wow-that game sounds a little likw wally ball, played over here in a racketball court. but different. sounds great dada
Post a Comment